Hours of opening
At this moment: close
Today: 10:00 - 18:00

Exhibitions «The renaissance of Damascus Steel, a tribute to William F. Moran»

Our new temporary exhibition ‘The Renaissance of Damascus Steel, a tribute to W. F. Moran’ will open on 30th August, 2015. Come in numbers to learn all about Damascus steel through the story of W. F. Moran, the exceptionally good American knifemaker who rediscovered Damascus steel, as evidenced by this magnificent dagger made of Damascus steel and ivory, which will be exhibited in the Iron and Railway Museum:

The exhibition traces the history and techniques of Damascus steel and its origins in wootz steel, and shows you some exceptional pieces, both old and contemporary, made from these materials. You will learn the significance of the part played by the Iron Museum in the rediscovery of Damascus steel in Europe in the 1980s when, in 1985, it provided Bill Moran with a course in forging that was the only one of its kind. About twenty smiths ‒ French, Swiss and even American ‒ joined the course, in order to discover the forgotten secrets of Damascus steel. You will see their work dating from that time and from the present, in a unique exhibition that combines the past and the present, history and techniques…

Don’t miss the opening to the public on Sunday, 30th August from 10h to 18h! In the programme: discovery of the exhibition, attractions and distinguished guests...

Information: The Renaissance of Damascus Steel, a tribute to W. F. Moran, from 30.08.2015 until 27.11.2016 at the Iron and Railway Museum in Vallorbe. Prices and opening hours as usual. Opening to the public, with attractions, on Sunday, 30th August.

VERNISSAGE EN PUBLIC


Samedi 2 juin 2018 / 10h00-18h00


Programme :

10h : ouverture de l'exposition

11h : visite commentée avec les artistes

11h30 : partie officielle et verrée offerte par la Fondation des Grandes Forges

15h : visite commentée avec les artistes

Toute la journée : atelier enfant

Tarifs habituels 

La Vouivre, 2016. Photo: Bobby Alkabes
Griffe de dragon, 2017. Photo: Bobby Alkabes

How to contact us

Musée du fer et du chemin de fer
Rue des Grandes Forges 11
1337 Vallorbe
+41 (0)21 843 25 83

Follow us

Subscription to our Newsletter

I hereby subscribe

Social networks

Join us

New mobile application!

Don’t wait any longer to discover the application that allows you to visit the Museum interactively.

Get it on Google Play

Copyright © Musée du fer et du chemin de fer

Graphisme Studio KO • Développement Pixeleez

Öffnungszeiten
Jetzt: offen
Heute: 10:00 - 12:00 und 14:00 - 18:00

Die Renaissance des Damaszener Stahls - Zum Gedenken an William F. Moran

Am 30. August 2015 eröffnen wir unsere neue temporäre Ausstellung: Die Renaissance des Damaszener Stahls, zum Gedenken an W. F. Moran. Anlässlich dieser öffentlichen Vernissage im Eisen- und Eisenbahnmuseum von Vallorbe erfahren Sie alles über den sagenhaften Damaszener Stahl dank dem Lebenswerk von W. F. Morgan, dem amerikanischen Messerschmied, der dieser Technik zum neuen Comeback verhalf. Sein Dolch aus Damaszener Stahl und Elfenbein wird im Museum ausgestellt.

Die Ausstellung erläutert die Geschichte und die Techniken des Damaszener Stahls, sowie jene des Wootz, einem indischen Stahl, und präsentiert seltene Klingen aus allen Epochen. In den achtziger Jahren trug das Eisenmuseum wesentlich dazu bei, den Damaszener Stahl wieder in Europa einzuführen, indem es Bill Moran 1985 zu einem einmaligen Schmiedekurs nach Vallorbe einlud. Zwanzig Messerschmiede aus Amerika, Frankreich und der Schweiz nahmen an diesem Kurs teil, um die in Vergessenheit geratenen Geheimnisse des Damas wieder zu erlernen. Ihre damaligen Messer und die heutigen Klingen ergeben eine einzigartige Ausstellung, eine Mischung aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, aus Geschichte und Technik.

Verpassen Sie die öffentliche Vernissage am Sonntag den 30. August, von 10 bis 18 Uhr nicht! Auf dem Programm: die Ausstellung, Vorführungen und Treffen mit Messer- und Messerschmiede-Spezialisten.

Informationen : Die Renaissance des Damaszener Stahls - Zum Gedenken an William F. Moran, vom 30.08.2015 bis zum 27.11.2016 im Eisen- und Eisenbahnmuseum von Vallorbe. Eintrittspreise und Öffnungszeiten wie gewohnt. Öffentliche Vernissage und Vorführungen am Sonntag den 30. August.




La griffe de dragon, 2017




La Vouivre, 2016
Die Renaissance des Damaszener Stahls - Zum Gedenken an William F. Moran

Kontakt

Musée du fer et du chemin de fer
Rue des Grandes Forges 11
1337 Vallorbe
+41 (0)21 843 25 83

Museum aktuell

Unseren Newsletter abonnieren

Ich abonniere mich

Online Netzwerke

Folgen Sie uns

Ein neues App'!

Entdecken Sie jetzt das App' um das Museum auf anregende Weise zu besuchen

Get it on Google Play

Copyright © Musée du fer et du chemin de fer

Graphisme Studio KO • Développement Pixeleez