Hours of opening
At this moment: close
Today: 10:00 - 18:00

THE IRON INDUSTRY IN VALLORBE AND IN THE REGION

THE HEROIC PERIOD OF BLOOMERIES

The excavations carried out by Professor Paul-Louis Pelet and his team near La Sarraz, in the Bellaires region, prove that blacksmiths were already utilising iron ore found in the Pied-du-Jura 350 years before Christ. From the stones which they collected they constructed furnaces coated inside with clay, and about 1.50 m tall; a pipe allowed the passage of the nozzle of manually-activated bellows which were used to kindle the fire in the hearth. This industry continued until about the 6th century A.D. There is no trace of it after that time.

From the 12th century, a few documents prove that the iron industry revived in the Jura. In Vallorbe, the first factories, the forerunners of the current industries, date from the last quarter of the 13th century. There was water from the River Orbe to drive the wheels, wood for building and for the manufacture of charcoal, and iron ore, notably in the Mont d'Orzeires, on the northern side of the Dent de Vaulion. Between 1280 and 1285, the prior of Romainmôtier, Gaufridius, set up the valley’s first bloomery at la Dernier. A bloomery reduces iron ore into iron that is directly forgeable, as in the primitive furnaces of the Bellaires.

At the beginning of the 16th century, Vallorbe was already a steelmaking centre with three bloomeries and several forges.

TOWARDS BLAST FURNACES AND THE INDUSTRIAL ERA...

The technical revolution embodied in the discovery of the blast furnace, in which cast iron is produced in large quantities, gave new impetus to the iron industry. In about 1670, Vallorbe had three blast furnaces, several fire-refining installations and about thirty forges. We should remember that cast iron, melted at about 1450 degrees C., does not become forgeable until after being refined.

However, by the end of the 17th century, production of cast iron had ceased in Vallorbe. The mines, of the open-cast type, were either exhausted or too poor, coal mining had ruined the forests, and competition from the Vallée de Joux, from Sainte-Croix and especially from the Franche-Comté, had become too strong. Metalworking had to diversify and become specialised. There was then a leap forward which proved that this transformation had been successful: The Vallorbians bought their iron elsewhere and became locksmiths, gunsmiths, nailsmiths, farriers.

This boom continued until about 1850, and was then sustained thanks to the manufacture of files, tools and chains. Les Usines Métallurgiques de Vallorbe, founded in 1899, and specialising in the production of precision files and chains for chainsaws, kept up the worldwide reputation of the Cité du Fer (City of Ironworks).

The iron industry also evolved elsewhere in the Jura, leading to the cutting of fine stones, the manufacture of music boxes, razors, chisels, and other precision tools or machines.

THE GREAT FORGES OR TOWN FORGES

It was quite normal that the Iron Museum should occupy the buildings of a listed site in Vallorbe, where ironworking has been carried on since 1495.

On that date the prior of Romainmôtier, Michel de Savoie, granted to Pierre Vallotton, alias Develley, water rights and the right to construct a grindstone and a tilt hammer, downstream from the bridge, in the centre of the town.

In 1528, a new ‘commune’ authorised the construction of a blast furnace. The Vallotton family continued as the owners of the enterprise until 1685, and added to it a refinery, a steel mill and several forge fires. The Favres, the Truans and other families succeeded them. The blast furnace was abandoned, and in 1705 it was demolished.

The Great Forges then became a conglomerate of independent factories, each of modest size. At the beginning of the 20th century there were six undershot water wheels in operation.

The Viotti family, who were the last owners, abandoned production at the Town Forges in 1967. On the other side of the canal, on which it also has a wheel, the magnificent Estoppey forge is now included in the visit to the Museum.

THE IRON MUSEUM

There were two guiding ideas behind its conception: demonstration and activity. Demonstration of the origins of the iron industry, of its development and of its current applications. Activity in the canal wheels which activate the machines, and in the working forge, the real heart of the Museum.

So there is a very special atmosphere: the panting of the water wheels, the whirring of the drive-belts, the clattering of the machines and the blows of the hammer on the anvil, constantly reminding one that each of the objects on view also had its own life.

At the forge, lit up and heated by the fire, a kind of work that has become mysterious for some lives again, and engenders a surprising fascination.


THE RAILWAY MUSEUM

Situated halfway along the 820 km of the Paris-Milan railway line, Vallorbe might have been designed to become the line’s ‘memory’.

Moreover, the important role played by the railway in the development of the locality deserved public recognition. So it was quite natural that, in 1990, the areas available on the different floors of the building of the Great Forges, now the property of the community, should be converted into a museum devoted to the railway epic of Vallorbe, on the Simplon line.

SOME IMPORTANT DATES

  • 1870 Opening of the Lausanne – Vallorbe line (the Day Viaduct was then made of steel)
  • 1875 Opening of the Vallorbe – Pontarlier line
  • 1886 Opening of the Vallorbe – Le Pont line
  • 1899 Le Pont – Le Brassus extension
  • 1915 Opening of the Mont d'Or tunnel
  • 1924 Reconstruction of the Day Viaduct in stone
  • 1984 Arrival of the TGV (High-Speed Train) in Vallorbe

How to contact us

Musée du fer et du chemin de fer
Rue des Grandes-Forges 11
1337 Vallorbe
+41 (0)21 843 25 83

Follow us

Subscription to our Newsletter

I hereby subscribe

Social networks

Join us

New mobile application!

Don’t wait any longer to discover the application that allows you to visit the Museum interactively.

Get it on Google Play

Copyright © Musée du fer et du chemin de fer

Graphisme Studio KO • Développement Pixeleez

Öffnungszeiten
Jetzt: offen
Heute: 10:00 - 12:00 und 14:00 - 18:00

Die Eisenindustrie in Vallorbe und Umgebung

Die heroische Epoche der Rennöfen

Die Ausgrabungen von Prof. Paul-Louis Pelet und seiner Mitarbeiter in der Region um Bellaires, in der Umgebung von La Sarraz, beweisen, dass bereits 350 Jahre v. Chr. Schmiede das Eisenerz am Jurafuss verwerteten. Mit zusammengetragenen Steinen bauten sie etwa 1,50 m hohe Öfen, die sie inwendig mit Lehm auskleideten. Durch ein Luftloch an der Basis des Ofens führten sie einen handbetriebenen Blasbalg ein, um das Feuer anzuschüren. Diese Eisenverarbeitung dauerte bis ins 6. Jahrhundert, doch danach fehlen weitere Funde.

Einige Dokumente bezeugen, dass die Eisenindustrie ab dem 12. Jahrhundert im Jura wieder auflebt. Die ersten Fabriken, Vorgängerinnen der heutigen Industrien, stammen in Vallorbe aus dem letzten Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts. Man verfügt über die Wasserkraft der Orbe um die Maschinen anzutreiben, über ausgedehnte Wälder zur Herstellung von Bauholz und Holzkohle, und über Eisenerz — insbesondere am Mont d'Orzeires, auf der Nordflanke der Dent de Vaulion. Zwischen 1280 und 1285 gründet Gaufridius, der Prior von Romainmôtier, die erste Eisenhütte der Talschaft in La Dernier. Hier wird das Eisenerz direkt zu schmiedbarem Eisen reduziert, wie seinerzeit in den ersten Öfen von Bellaires.

Zu Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts ist Vallorbe bereits ein bedeutendes Zentrum der Eisenverarbeitung, mit drei Eisenhütten und mehreren Schmieden.

Hochöfen und Eisenindustrie

Die Entwicklung des Hochofens, der die Produktion von Gusseisen in grossen Mengen erlaubt, gilt als technische Revolution und gibt der Eisenindustrie neue Impulse. In den Jahren um 1670 zählt Vallorbe drei Hochöfen, mehrere Frischöfen und etwa dreissig Schmieden. Damit Gusseisen, das bei etwa 1450 Grad gegossen wird, schmiedbar wird, muss es gefrischt werden.

Aber am Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts wird die Herstellung von Gusseisen in Vallorbe eingestellt. Die Erzminen im Tagbau sind erschöpft oder unrentabel, die Köhlerei hat die Wälder zerstört und die Konkurrenz aus der Vallée de Joux, aus Sainte-Croix und insbesondere aus der Franche-Comté ist zu gross. Die Eisenverarbeitung muss sich diversifizieren und spezialisieren. Diese Umwandlung meistern die Vallorber Schmiede mit Erfolg: sie kaufen ihren Rohstoff auswärts ein und werden Schlosser, Büchsenmacher, Nagel- und Hufschmiede.

Dieser Aufschwung hält bis um 1850 an und wird dann durch die Herstellung von Feilen, Werkzeugen und Ketten abgelöst. Die Usines Métallurgiques von Vallorbe, 1899 gegründet, spezialisiert sich in der Produktion von Präzisionsfeilen und Rundfeilen für Motorsägenketten und vertritt weltweit den ausgezeichneten Ruf der "Eisenstadt" Vallorbe.

Anderswo im Jura und mit einer entsprechenden Entwicklungsgeschichte führt die Eisenindustrie zur Herstellung von Musikdosen, von Präzisionsmaschinen und -Werkzeugen, von Rasierapparaten und zur Bearbeitung von Edelsteinen.

Die Grandes Forges oder Forges de la Ville

Das Eisenmuseum belegt in Vallorbe Gebäude, die unter Denkmalschutz stehen und in denen seit 1495 Eisen bearbeitet wird.

Der damalige Prior von Romainmôtier, Michel de Savoie, hatte Pierre Vallotton, alias Develley, das Wasserrecht zum Einbau einer Hammerschmiede und eines Schleifsteins im Zentrum der Stadt, unterhalb der Brücke, erteilt.

1528 erlaubt ein neuer Lehnvertrag den Bau eines Hochofens. Bis 1685 bleibt die Familie Vallotton Eigentümerin des Unternehmens und ergänzt es mit einem Frischofen, einem Stahlwerk und mehreren Essen. Ihr folgen die Familien Favre, Truan und andere. Der Hochofen wird 1705 aufgegeben und danach abgebrochen.

Aus den Grandes Forges wird ein Konglomerat unabhängiger und relativ bescheidener Familienbetriebe. Anfangs des 20. Jahrhunderts werden im Fabrikkanal noch sechs Wasserräder betrieben.

Als letzte Eigentümerin verlässt die Familie Viotti ihre Werkstatt in den Forges de la Ville im Jahr 1967. Auf der andern Seite des Kanals wird die historische Schmiede Estoppey mit ihrem Wasserrad ebenfalls in den Museumsrundgang integriert.

Das Eisenmuseum

Zwei Grundgedanken haben sein Konzept geleitet: entdecken und vorführen. Entdecken des Ursprungs der Eisenindustrie, ihrer Entwicklung und ihrer heutigen Anwendungen. Vorführen der wichtigsten mechanischen Einrichtungen dank der sechs Wasserräder im Kanal, der wasserbetriebenen Maschinen und der Schmiede, dem Herzen des Museums wo immer noch gearbeitet wird.

Das Rauschen der Wasserräder, das Surren der Kraftübertragungen mit ihren Lederriemen, die Schläge der Hammerschmiede und der musikalische Klang von Amboss und Esse ergeben eine einzigartige Stimmung. Hier wird gearbeitet, alle Gegenstände haben einmal gelebt.

Die Arbeit in der Schmiede ist für viele geheimnisvoll und faszinierend. Feuer und Wärme der Grandes Forges erwecken sie zu neuem Leben.


Das Eisenbahnmuseum

Auf halber Strecke zwischen Paris und Mailand gelegen, als Grenzbahnhof an der 820 km langen Achse, ist Vallorbe der ideale Standort um diese Eisenbahngeschichte zu überliefern.

Die wichtige Rolle der Eisenbahn für die Entwicklung der Ortschaft verdient eine öffentliche Anerkennung. Deshalb wurde bereits 1990 in den beiden oberen Stockwerken der Grandes Forges — das Gebäude gehört der Gemeinde — das Museum zum Thema "Vallorbe auf der Simplonlinie" eröffnet.

Einige wichtige Daten

  • 1870 Eröffnung der Linie Lausanne – Vallorbe (Bahnviadukt von Le Day als Stahlkonstruktion)
  • 1875 Eröffnung der Linie Vallorbe – Pontarlier
  • 1886 Eröffnung der Linie Vallorbe – Le Pont
  • 1899 Verlängerung der Linie Le Pont – Le Brassus
  • 1915 Eröffnung des Bahntunnels durch den Mont d'Or
  • 1924 Umbau des Bahnviadukts von Le Day als Natursteinmauerwerk
  • 1984 Ankunft des Hochgeschwindigkeitszugs TGV in Vallorbe

Kontakt

Musée du fer et du chemin de fer
Rue des Grandes Forges 11
1337 Vallorbe
+41 (0)21 843 25 83

Museum aktuell

Unseren Newsletter abonnieren

Ich abonniere mich

Online Netzwerke

Folgen Sie uns

Ein neues App'!

Entdecken Sie jetzt das App' um das Museum auf anregende Weise zu besuchen

Get it on Google Play

Copyright © Musée du fer et du chemin de fer

Graphisme Studio KO • Développement Pixeleez