Hours of opening
At this moment: close
Today: 10:00 - 18:00

THE IRON INDUSTRY IN VALLORBE AND IN THE REGION

THE HEROIC PERIOD OF BLOOMERIES

The excavations carried out by Professor Paul-Louis Pelet and his team near La Sarraz, in the Bellaires region, prove that blacksmiths were already utilising iron ore found in the Pied-du-Jura 350 years before Christ. From the stones which they collected they constructed furnaces coated inside with clay, and about 1.50 m tall; a pipe allowed the passage of the nozzle of manually-activated bellows which were used to kindle the fire in the hearth. This industry continued until about the 6th century A.D. There is no trace of it after that time.

From the 12th century, a few documents prove that the iron industry revived in the Jura. In Vallorbe, the first factories, the forerunners of the current industries, date from the last quarter of the 13th century. There was water from the River Orbe to drive the wheels, wood for building and for the manufacture of charcoal, and iron ore, notably in the Mont d'Orzeires, on the northern side of the Dent de Vaulion. Between 1280 and 1285, the prior of Romainmôtier, Gaufridius, set up the valley’s first bloomery at la Dernier. A bloomery reduces iron ore into iron that is directly forgeable, as in the primitive furnaces of the Bellaires.

At the beginning of the 16th century, Vallorbe was already a steelmaking centre with three bloomeries and several forges.

TOWARDS BLAST FURNACES AND THE INDUSTRIAL ERA...

The technical revolution embodied in the discovery of the blast furnace, in which cast iron is produced in large quantities, gave new impetus to the iron industry. In about 1670, Vallorbe had three blast furnaces, several fire-refining installations and about thirty forges. We should remember that cast iron, melted at about 1450 degrees C., does not become forgeable until after being refined.

However, by the end of the 17th century, production of cast iron had ceased in Vallorbe. The mines, of the open-cast type, were either exhausted or too poor, coal mining had ruined the forests, and competition from the Vallée de Joux, from Sainte-Croix and especially from the Franche-Comté, had become too strong. Metalworking had to diversify and become specialised. There was then a leap forward which proved that this transformation had been successful: The Vallorbians bought their iron elsewhere and became locksmiths, gunsmiths, nailsmiths, farriers.

This boom continued until about 1850, and was then sustained thanks to the manufacture of files, tools and chains. Les Usines Métallurgiques de Vallorbe, founded in 1899, and specialising in the production of precision files and chains for chainsaws, kept up the worldwide reputation of the Cité du Fer (City of Ironworks).

The iron industry also evolved elsewhere in the Jura, leading to the cutting of fine stones, the manufacture of music boxes, razors, chisels, and other precision tools or machines.

THE GREAT FORGES OR TOWN FORGES

It was quite normal that the Iron Museum should occupy the buildings of a listed site in Vallorbe, where ironworking has been carried on since 1495.

On that date the prior of Romainmôtier, Michel de Savoie, granted to Pierre Vallotton, alias Develley, water rights and the right to construct a grindstone and a tilt hammer, downstream from the bridge, in the centre of the town.

In 1528, a new ‘commune’ authorised the construction of a blast furnace. The Vallotton family continued as the owners of the enterprise until 1685, and added to it a refinery, a steel mill and several forge fires. The Favres, the Truans and other families succeeded them. The blast furnace was abandoned, and in 1705 it was demolished.

The Great Forges then became a conglomerate of independent factories, each of modest size. At the beginning of the 20th century there were six undershot water wheels in operation.

The Viotti family, who were the last owners, abandoned production at the Town Forges in 1967. On the other side of the canal, on which it also has a wheel, the magnificent Estoppey forge is now included in the visit to the Museum.

THE IRON MUSEUM

There were two guiding ideas behind its conception: demonstration and activity. Demonstration of the origins of the iron industry, of its development and of its current applications. Activity in the canal wheels which activate the machines, and in the working forge, the real heart of the Museum.

So there is a very special atmosphere: the panting of the water wheels, the whirring of the drive-belts, the clattering of the machines and the blows of the hammer on the anvil, constantly reminding one that each of the objects on view also had its own life.

At the forge, lit up and heated by the fire, a kind of work that has become mysterious for some lives again, and engenders a surprising fascination.


THE RAILWAY MUSEUM

Situated halfway along the 820 km of the Paris-Milan railway line, Vallorbe might have been designed to become the line’s ‘memory’.

Moreover, the important role played by the railway in the development of the locality deserved public recognition. So it was quite natural that, in 1990, the areas available on the different floors of the building of the Great Forges, now the property of the community, should be converted into a museum devoted to the railway epic of Vallorbe, on the Simplon line.

SOME IMPORTANT DATES

  • 1870 Opening of the Lausanne – Vallorbe line (the Day Viaduct was then made of steel)
  • 1875 Opening of the Vallorbe – Pontarlier line
  • 1886 Opening of the Vallorbe – Le Pont line
  • 1899 Le Pont – Le Brassus extension
  • 1915 Opening of the Mont d'Or tunnel
  • 1924 Reconstruction of the Day Viaduct in stone
  • 1984 Arrival of the TGV (High-Speed Train) in Vallorbe

How to contact us

Musée du fer et du chemin de fer
Rue des Grandes-Forges 11
1337 Vallorbe
+41 (0)21 843 25 83

Follow us

Subscription to our Newsletter

I hereby subscribe

Social networks

Join us

New mobile application!

Don’t wait any longer to discover the application that allows you to visit the Museum interactively.

Get it on Google Play

Copyright © Musée du fer et du chemin de fer

Graphisme Studio KO • Développement Pixeleez

Horaires
En ce moment: fermé
Aujourd'hui: 10:00 - 18:00

HISTOIRE

L'industrie du fer à Vallorbe et dans la région

LES TEMPS HÉROÏQUES DES BAS FOURNEAUX

Les fouilles effectuées par le professeur Paul-Louis Pelet et ses collaborateurs, dans la région des Bellaires, près de la Sarraz, prouvent que les forgerons exploitent déjà le minerai de fer du pied du Jura 350 ans avant J.-C. Ils construisent, avec des pierres qu'ils ramassent, des fours revêtus intérieurement de glaise, d'environ 1,50 m de hauteur; une tuyère permet le passage du bec d'un soufflet, actionné manuellement, qui avive le feu dans le foyer. Cette exploitation se poursuit jusque vers le 6e siècle de notre ère. Nous en perdons ensuite la trace.

Dès le 12e siècle, quelques documents prouvent que l'industrie du fer renaît dans le Jura. A Vallorbe, les premières usines, ancêtres des industries actuelles, remontent au dernier quart du 13e siècle. On y dispose de l'eau de l'Orbe pour actionner les roues, du bois pour la construction et la fabrication du charbon, et du minerai de fer, notamment au Mont d'Orzeires, sur le flanc nord de la Dent de Vaulion. Le prieur de Romainmôtier, Gaufridius, fonde à la Dernier, entre 1280 et 1285, la première ferrière du vallon. Une ferrière réduit le minerai en fer directement forgeable, comme les fours primitifs des Bellaires.

Au début du 16e siècle, Vallorbe est déjà un centre sidérurgique avec trois ferrières et plusieurs forges.

VERS LES HAUTS FOURNEAUX ET L’ÈRE INDUSTRIELLE

La révolution technique que représente la découverte du haut fourneau, où l'on produit de la fonte en grande quantité, donne une impulsion nouvelle à l'industrie du fer. Vers 1670, Vallorbe compte trois hauts fourneaux, plusieurs feux d'affinerie et une trentaine de forges. Rappelons que la fonte, coulée à 1450 degrés environ, ne devient forgeable qu'après affinage.

Cependant, dès la fin du 17e siècle, la production de fonte cesse à Vallorbe. Les minières, mines à ciel ouvert, sont épuisées ou trop pauvres, le charbonnage a ruiné les forêts, la concurrence de la Vallée de Joux, de Sainte-Croix et surtout de la Franche-Comté devient trop forte. Le travail du métal doit se diversifier et se spécialiser. On assiste alors à un nouveau bond en avant qui prouve la réussite de cette reconversion : les Vallorbiers achètent le fer ailleurs et deviennent serruriers, armuriers, cloutiers, maréchaux.

Cet essor se poursuit jusque vers 1850,  puis se maintient grâce à la fabrication des limes, des outils et des chaînes. Les Usines Métallurgiques de Vallorbe, fondées en 1899, spécialisées dans la production des limes de précision et des « rondes à chaîne » de tronçonneuse, maintiennent la réputation de la Cité du Fer dans le monde entier.

Ailleurs dans le Jura, suivant la même évolution, l'industrie du fer débouche sur la taille de pierres fines, la fabrication des boîtes à musique, des rasoirs, des burins et d'autres outils ou machines de précision.

LES GRANDES FORGES OU FORGES DE LA VILLE

Tout naturellement, le Musée du fer occupe à Vallorbe les bâtiments d'un site classé où l'on travaille le fer depuis 1495.

A cette date, le prieur de Romainmôtier, Michel de Savoie, concède à Pierre Vallotton, alias Develley, les droits d'eau et la construction d'une meule à aiguiser ainsi que d'un martinet, en aval du pont, au centre de la ville.

En 1528, un nouvel "abergement" autorise la création d'un haut fourneau. La famille Vallotton reste propriétaire de l'entreprise jusqu'en 1685 et y ajoute une affinerie, une aciérie et plusieurs feux de forge. Les Favre, Truan et d'autres s'y succèdent ensuite. Le haut fourneau est abandonné, puis démoli en 1705.

Les Grandes Forges deviennent alors un conglomérat d'usines indépendantes, chacune aux dimensions très modestes. Six roues à aubes tournent au début du 20e siècle.

La famille Viotti, dernier propriétaire, abandonne la production aux Forges de la Ville en 1967. De l'autre côté du canal, sur lequel elle a aussi une roue, la magnifique forge Estoppey est maintenant intégrée dans la visite du Musée.

LE MUSÉE DU FER

Nous en avons axé la conception sur deux idées directrices : la démonstration et l'animation. Démonstration des origines de l'industrie du fer, de son développement et de ses applications actuelles. Animation grâce aux roues du canal qui actionnent les machines et à la forge en activité, véritable coeur du musée.

Il se dégage ainsi une atmosphère très particulière : le halètement des roues à aubes, le bruissement des courroies de transmission, le cliquetis des machines et les coups de marteau sur l'enclume rappellent constamment que les objets exposés ont vécu, eux aussi.

A la forge, que le feu éclaire et réchauffe, revit un travail devenu mystérieux pour beaucoup, elle exerce une fascination surprenante.


LE MUSÉE DU CHEMIN DE FER

Situé à mi-chemin des 820 km de ligne de l'axe ferroviaire Paris-Milan, Vallorbe était tout désigné pour devenir la "mémoire" de la ligne.

En outre, le rôle important que le chemin de fer a joué dans le développement de la localité méritait une reconnaissance publique. Les espaces à disposition dans les étages du bâtiment des Grandes Forges, devenu propriété communale, ont tout naturellement été aménagés en 1990 en un musée consacré à l'épopée ferroviaire de Vallorbe sur la ligne du Simplon.

QUELQUES DATES IMPORTANTES

  • 1870 Ouverture de la ligne Lausanne – Vallorbe (Viaduc du Day en acier)
  • 1875 Ouverture de la ligne Vallorbe – Pontarlier
  • 1886 Ouverture de la ligne Vallorbe – Le Pont
  • 1899 Prolongement Le Pont – Le Brassus
  • 1915 Ouverture du tunnel du Mont d'Or
  • 1924 Reconstruction en pierre du viaduc du Day
  • 1984 Arrivée du TGV à Vallorbe

Comment nous contacter

Musée du fer et du chemin de fer
Rue des Grandes Forges 11
1337 Vallorbe
+41 (0)21 843 25 83

Nous suivre

Inscription à notre Newsletter

Je m'inscris

Réseaux sociaux

Rejoignez-nous

Nouvelle application mobile!

Découvrez sans plus attendre l'application qui permet de visiter le musée de manière interactive.

Get it on Google Play

Copyright © Musée du fer et du chemin de fer

Graphisme Studio KO • Développement Pixeleez